The blog of the wandering douche

For recognition of the inhumane, thoughtless, greedy, and the negligent. And douchebags.

A response to the NZ Internet Copyright Infringement bill

leave a comment »

So I was just sitting here eating my baked beans, reading the morning news, when a thunderbolt struck in the form of a tangental link between my choice of 2am listening material and this mornings federated news. Let’s start firstly with the 2am listening material in question, and make it the backdrop to the news I was reading.

The thunderbolt was Mark E Smith’s appropriation of Hunter S Thompson’s observation that “when the going gets weird, the weird turn pro”. What a fucking revelation. With that in mind I thought of a civic response to the bill –

I hereby assert copyright over everything that I produce that is unique to me – this includes such items as my email address, my image, hell, why not my DNA? In the event that anybody abuses this copyrighted information (for example, to email me an infringement notice) I will assert my copyright and request that their offensive and improper use of that material cease. People who use this material in a reasonable way (reasonable being where no-one fucks up my shit) can do whatever they want.

So I say that if this mechanism has been created and applies to New Zealanders to give copyright holders protection from copyright abusers, then clearly we all need to become copyright holders so that the abuse of copyright cannot proceed. Simple.

Written by thewanderingdouche

April 24, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Leave a Reply

